EPFL Open Science Champions – Open Science at EPFL

“In September 2018, EPFL President Martin Vetterli announced the creation of the Open Science Fund to support the best ideas from everyone on campus with a total of CHF 3 Mio over the period 2019-2021.

The first call for proposal attracted nearly 50 propositions submitted between mid-September and mid-December 2018. Eight projects were selected by the members of the open science strategic committee, joined for the occasion by representatives of the various EPFL school, and will receive support to develop ideas fostering open and reproducible research on campus, and beyond. You can find a short description of the laureate ideas below….”

Open Publishing Awards Announced! : Collaborative Knowledge Foundation

“The Open Publishing Awards were held last night at Force 2019 in Edinburgh. It was a great night with short opening speeches by Adam Hyde and Cameron Neylon. The judges, including Neil Chue Hong, Natasha Simons, and John Chodacki then announced the recipients. In the spirit of celebrating open the judges decided not to have ‘winners’ but to announce several outstanding projects in each category. More information from us on this coming soon. All results are available from the Open Publishing Awards website. Congrats to everyone!…”

2019 Award Winner — World Data System: Trusted Data Services for Global Science

“Libby [Liggins] is part of the Steering Committee for the Genomics Observatory Metadatabase (GEOME), purpose-built to capture the metadata associated with biological samples and genomic sequences and conforming to current international standards for biodiversity and genomic data. Libby is also a core member of the Diversity of the Indo-Pacific Network (DIPnet) that seeks to advance biodiversity science in the world’s largest biogeographic region through international collaboration. DIPnet members have developed the largest, curated, georeferenced population genetic/genomic database in the world, and forms the core of GEOME….

Through collaboration with Local Contexts and Te Mana Rauranga (the M?ori Data Sovereignty Network), the Ira Moana Project and GEOME are now beta-testing the capacity for researchers to add a Traditional Knowledge Notice (TK Notice) and new Biocultural Labels as metadata. TK Notices signal that there are accompanying indigenous rights that need further attention for any responsible and equitable future use of the data. Biocultural Labels further allow the addition of provenance information and community expectations for future use based on Indigenous Data Sovereignty principles—including CARE (Collective Benefit, Authority to Control, Responsibility, Ethics) Principles launched by the Global Indigenous Data Alliance—thereby enabling indigenous stewardship and persistent recognition of indigenous rights within an international framework of Nagoya compliance. The implementation of a TK Notice and Biocultural Labels using GEOME’s infrastructure is a first for a biological resource and for genetic data, establishing new ethical standards in this research community.”

News – Professor Martin Paul Eve wins prestigious Philip Leverhulme Prize

“We are extremely pleased to announce that Professor Martin Paul Eve of Birkbeck, University of London, a co-CEO and co-founder with Dr Caroline Edwards of the Open Library of Humanities, has been awarded a 2019 Philip Leverhulme Prize for his research in the field of literary studies.

Philip Leverhulme Prizes have been offered since 2001 in commemoration of the contribution to the work of the Trust made by Philip Leverhulme, the Third Viscount Leverhulme and grandson of William Hesketh Lever, the founder of the Trust. The prestigious prize is for researchers at an early stage of their careers whose work has had international impact and whose future research career is exceptionally promising – to use for any research purpose.

Professor Eve said, of the award: “I am absolutely delighted and honoured to have been awarded this prize by the Leverhulme Trust. I have long advocated for scholar and active-researcher control of academic-publishing practices even while believing that publishing is a professional role that requires specialised labour and that should be properly remunerated. I hope, though, to have shown in my practice that this is possible; I have maintained an internationally recognised research trajectory while working extensively to transform scholarly communications in the humanities disciplines.” …”

Safe Data Sharing: How Harvard-developed research tools helped Suso Baleato win the 2019 poster prize of the FAS Postdoc Research Symposium | Institute for Quantitative Social Science

“Ask Dr. Suso Baleato about how his past two years working as a postdoctoral fellow at IQSS furthered his research, and he will talk less about the research itself than on the exciting technologies that have enabled it to be analyzed and made public. “Differential privacy,” he said, “is a computational way to safely share statistical analysis of sensitive data. Now you can apply differential privacy to real cases. This is IQSS!”

To understand the importance of differential privacy and two other Harvard-developed tools, DataTags and Dataverse, one need look no farther than Baleato’s work studying the digitalization of society. Personal computers, mobile phones, social media, the internet itself – these have all seen exponential growth in the past two decades, allowing average citizens to answer their doorbells and control the settings on their toasters from halfway across the globe. More importantly, the rise of digitalization has made information more accessible, in some cases beyond what some governments may wish their citizens to have….”

Lana Porter Open Access Initiatives Award – Scholarly Communication – LibGuides at Murray State University

“This award recognizes Murray State full-time faculty, staff, or students who have made significant contributions to scholarship through Open Access formats. This may include, but is not limited to: publishing articles in Open Access journals; publishing Open Access chapters or full monographs (including textbooks); or, archiving works in an Open Access repository, such as Murray State’s Digital Commons (digitalcommons.murraystate.edu/faculty). This award seeks to recognize efforts that allow the dissemination of new information that is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions, so that we may archive and promote the scholarship of Murray State faculty, staff, and students. This award was established by a generous gift of Lana Porter, a Murray State alumnus who is a strong supporter of our faculty, staff, and students, and who sought to give back in the area of technology and with the Libraries….”

Internet Archive’s Enhanced Mueller Report Wins Best Book of 2019 from Digital Book World | Internet Archive Blogs

“This week, the Internet Archive and Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) were honored for the Best Book of 2019 at the annual Digital Book World Awards for their work to create an enhanced version of the Mueller Report. The Digital Book World (DBW) Award recognizes outstanding achievement in digital publishing. The Internet Archive and DPLA were awarded Best Book in the nonfiction category for their work in creating a more accessible and contextualized version of the Mueller Report. “This is an important document for American history,” said Brewster Kahle, founder and Digital Librarian of the Internet Archive. “It deserved to be enhanced with features to make it more usable for more people—so they could not only read it but dive in and click to go further.”… ”