OASPA Webinar: The Economics and Sustainability of Open Access – OASPA

“OASPA is pleased to announce our first webinar in our new Open Science Webinar Series: The Economics and Sustainability of Open Access.

Date: Thursday 25th October 2018
Time: 1.30pm BST (other timezones: 5.30am PDT, 7.30am CDT, 8.30am EDT, 9.30am BRT, 1.30pm CET, 1.30pm WAT, 2.30pm SAST, 6.00pm IST, 11.30pm AEDT).

This webinar is free and open to the public. Link to registration page: http://www.cvent.com/d/cbqwbc …”

OASPA Turns 10 – OASPA

“OASPA celebrated our 10th anniversary yesterday, marking ten years of representing the interests of open access journal and book publishers globally.

Founded on October 14th, 2008, OASPA has now spent a decade striving to fulfill our mission to develop and disseminate solutions that advance open access, preserve the integrity of scholarship, and promote best practice, supporting the transition to a world in which open access becomes the predominant model of publication for scholarly outputs and ensuring a diverse, vibrant, and healthy open access market that supports a wide variety of innovative solutions and business models….”

Spotlight on the OASPA Board: Caroline Sutton – OASPA

“In the fourth of a series of interviews highlighting the important contributions of the Board, OASPA’s Events and Communications Coordinator, Leyla Williams, talked to Caroline Sutton, Head of Open Scholarship Development at Taylor & Francis. Caroline was OASPA’s first President of the Board in 2008….”

OASPA Offers Support on the Implementation of Plan S – OASPA

“The following statement was written by the members of OASPA’s Board of Directors:

The Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association (OASPA) is a community of publishers and related organisations committed to supporting the transition to a world in which open access becomes the predominant model of publication for scholarly outputs. OASPA therefore welcomes the launch of Plan S, recently announced by a coalition of 11 leading funding agencies from across Europe, with the support of the European Commission and the European Research Council, as an important step in the transition towards full and immediate open access for scholarly research.”

Open and Shut?: Realising the BOAI vision: Peter Suber’s Advice

Peter Suber’s current high-priority recommendations for advancing open access.

Open and Shut?: Realising the BOAI vision: Peter Suber’s Advice

Peter Suber’s high-priority recommendations for advancing OA.

Panelists Discuss New Developments in Open Access Monographs for OASPA and Knowledge Exchange Webinar – OASPA

Eelco Ferwerda (OAPEN), Lucy Montgomery (Knowledge Unlatched Research), and Christina Emery (Springer Nature) recently joined OASPA and Knowledge Exchange for a webinar to discuss new developments in Open Access monographs in the humanities and social sciences. Jeroen Sondervan (Knowledge Exchange) chaired the discussion. The Copyright Clearance Center hosted the webinar. Leyla Williams, Events and Communications Coordinator at OASPA, reflects on the discussion.

A recording of the webinar is available at:

https://oaspa.org/information-resources/oaspa-webinars/

Future of Open Scholarship in the Humanities and Social Sciences: Insights from OASPA’s Twitter Chat – OASPA

On July 12th, 2017, OASPA hosted a Twitter chat with Caroline Sutton (Head of Open Scholarship Development at Taylor & Francis and member of the OASPA Board), Rebecca Kennison (Principal of K|N Consultants and the co-founder of the Open Access Network), Dr Jennifer Edmond (Research Fellow and Director of Strategic Projects for the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences at Trinity College Dublin and co-director of the Trinity Center for Digital Humanities) and Ron Dekker (Director of CESSDA). Our panelists answered questions from the Open Access community and the general public on the future of open scholarship in the Humanities and Social Sciences, and we were lucky to have a lively and wide-ranging discussion

Steady Growth of Articles in Fully OA Journals Using a CC-BY License – OASPA

“CC BY in fully open access journals is by far the dominant article type published by OASPA members. However, there is a notable increase in CC BY articles published in hybrid journals, as well as articles published under a CC BY-NC license in fully OA journals, pointing to an increase in articles published as OA generally.

Usage of the CC BY-NC-SA license has fallen in both hybrid and fully-OA journals published by OASPA members….”